Copyright by WRTC2018 e.V. (2015 - 2017) Contact: WRTC 2018 e.V. | Tizianstrasse 3 | 83026 Rosenheim | E-Mail: contact@wrtc2018.de | Impressum & Datenschutz

WRTC 2018 is pleased to announce that Ham Radio Outlet will support the World Radiosport Team Championship in Germany as a Silver Sponsor.

Ham Radio Outlet was founded in 1971 by Bob Ferrero, W6RJ (now sk). The succesful family owned business has 15 sales locations throughout the United States. Its formidable presence on the Internet making it the largest Ham Radio dealership in the world. Bob W6RJ, was one of the early commercial sponsors of the WRTC idea. Following this tradition his son Robert W6KR, has signed the sponsorship agreement to support WRTC 2018 in Germany as a Silver Sponsor.

Robert pointed out “We are very excited to help promote such a fantastic event for ham radio!”

Christian Janssen DL1MGB, president of the WRTC-2018 Organizing Committee, emphasized the importance of long term partners like Ham Radio Outlet : “The tradition of WRTCs started on the west coast of the USA. We are very grateful for the pioneering spirit of the ham community and ham radio suppliers. We will do our very best organizing the WRTC 2018 in Germany”.

 

Christian presented the sponsors plaque during Hamvention in Dayton 2017 to Bob W6KR, and Robert W6RJ, who represent the third generation of Ham Radio Outlet.

WRTC 2018 is pleased to announce that FlexRadio Systems will support the World Radiosport Team Championship in Germany as a Gold Sponsor.

Lfexradio WRTC 2018 Visalia

FlexRadio Systems provides a new approach in radio design. With its line of top notch software defined radios (SDR) FlexRadio Systems brings new features to radio contesting. Using direct sampling the simultaneous observation of different bands through the use of spectrum scope views and intelligent audio switching is available. Hence operating is not limited by having just two ears. These features offer new opportunities which could change contesting over the next decade.

Christian Janssen, DL1MGB, president of the WRTC 2018 Organizing Committee, emphasized the importance of teaming with innovative partners: “We highly welcome the support of FlexRadio Systems because one aspect of the WRTC is the development and evaluation of new technology.”

Flexradio WRTC Plaque

Christian, DL1MGB, hands over the plaque for the Gold Sponsorship to Gerald Youngblood,  K5SDR, President & Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of FlexRadio System during IDXC 2017 in Visalia

About WRTC 2018

WRTC 2018 e.V. is the organizer of the World Radiosport Team Championship in Germany in 2018. The event will be held from the 12th to the 16th of July in 2018 in the Jessen/Wittenberg region, south of Berlin. About 60 teams will fight for the title of a World Champion supported by about 300 volunteers, who set up the antennas and infrastructure. Quite different from usual contesting, the participants must use identical equipment in the same geographical region which eliminates all variables except their personal contesting skills.

The WRTC is held every four years.Previous WRTCs were held in Seattle/USA (1990), San Francisco/USA (1996), Slovenia (2000), Finland (2002) Brazil (2006) Russia (2010) and New England/USA (2014).

WRTC 2018 is delighted to announce the approval of the last two Sponsored Teams. The selection process was focused on radio sport skills (competitiveness), support of the WRTC principals and the contribution of technological improvements in radiosport. Numerous excellent applications reached the committee. We are sure the selected teams will play an important role in the 2018 championship and will fight for top places.

Team YO3JR

Team #4 is led by Andrei Ruse, YO3JR, from Romania. He pointed out that his existing interest in radio contesting was amplified following the WRTC event in 2000 in Slovenia. Only 26 years old Andy took part in WRTC 2006 in Brasilia and also came back for the WRTCs in Russia 2010 and USA 2014. He is an example of how the WRTC and ham radio in general have a huge impact on young hams in improving operating skills as well as their tactical and technical abilities. These are the main ingredients required in order to be considered a top contester.

Photo: Andy, YO3JR, before the opening of WRTC 2014 in New England

Team #5 is led by Ivo Pezer, E73A/9A3A. Ivo can be called an WRTC veteran. As a team leader he took part in three previous WRTCs in San Francisco 1996, Slovenia 2000 and Brazil 2006. He missed WRTC 2014 only because of a visa problem. Ivo’s competitiveness is documented by outstanding contest scores resulting in an excellent qualification score in the very competitive EU#5 region. As an employee of the UN he has traveled to many countries, operating as a single op or part of multi op teams. Ivo plans to implement advanced SDR technology with the help of his announced team mate Ranko, 4O3A. This will again underline the impact of the WRTC movement on technological progress in ham radio contesting.

Team 1
Ranko, 4O3A, and Ivo, E73A, working as a well-practised team

The selection of sponsored teams is now finished. WRTC 2018 has more excellent applications and every applicant would be an excellent team leader for the event. Unfortunately we are limited to only five sponsored teams.

The other sponsored teams are led by

f t

Copyright by WRTC2018 e.V. (2015 - 2017) Contact: WRTC 2018 e.V. | Tizianstrasse 3 | 83026 Rosenheim | E-Mail: contact@wrtc2018.de | Impressum & Datenschutz

Die Organisatoren der WRTC 2018 freuen sich bekannt geben zu können, dass das kalifornische Unternehmen Ham Radio Outlet die WRTC 2018 als Silber-Sponsor unterstützt.

Ham Radio Outlet wurde 1971 von Bob Ferrero, W6RJ (sk) gegründet. Das erfolgreiche Familienunternehmen hat 15 Verkaufsfilialen in ganz Nordamerika. Durch die hervorragenden Web-Präsenz ist Ham Radio Outlet zudem zu einem der führenden Ham-Radio-Versender weltweit geworden. Bob, W6RJ, war einer der ersten kommerziellen Unterstützer der WRTC-Idee. Dieser Tradition folgend unterschrieb sein Sohn Robert, W6KR, die Sponsoren-Vereinbarung für die Unterstützung der WRTC 2018 in Deutschland.

Robert erklärte hierzu "Wir sind begeistert von der WRTC und unterstützen deshalb dieses fantastische Event.”

Christian Janssen, DL1MGB, President des WRTC-2018 Organisationskomitees betonte die Bedeutung langjähriger Unterstützer wie Ham Radio Outlet : “Die Tradition der WRTC entstand an der Westküste der USA. Wir sind sehr dankbar für den Pioniergeist der Ham Community und der Amateurfunkfirmen. Wir werden unser Bestes bei der Organisation der WRTC 2018 in Deutschland geben”.

 

Christian, DL1MGB, übergab die Sponsoren-Plakette während der Hamvention in Dayton 2017 an Bob W6KR, und Robert W6RJ, der die dritte Generation von Ham Radio Outlet repräsentiert.

Die Organisatoren der WRTC 2018 freuen sich bekannt geben zu können, dass FlexRadio Systems die WRTC 2018 als Gold-Sponsor unterstützt.

Lfexradio WRTC 2018 Visalia

FlexRadio Systems steht für einen innovativen Ansatz im Bereich High-End-Kurzwellen-Transceiver. Mit der Produktlinie von Spitzenklasse-SDR-Transceivern bringt FlexRadio Systems dem Funksport völlig neuartige Möglichkeiten. Mittels der Direct-Sampling-Methode ist die gleichzeitige Beobachtung mehrerer Bänder mittel Bandscopes und intelligentem Audiomanagement möglich. Damit ist der Betrieb nicht mehr durch die zwei Ohren beschränkt. Die angebotenen Möglichkeiten haben das Potenzial das Contesting in der nächsten Dekade einschneidend zu verändern.

Der Stand von FlexRadio Systems bei der IDXC in Visalia (Photo by K3LEA)

Christian Janßen, DL1MGB, Präsident des WRTC-2018-Organisationskomitees, betont die Bedeutung der Zusammenarbeit mit innovativen Partnern wie FlexRadio Systems: “Wir begrüßen die Unterstützung durch FlexRadio Systems insbesondere, weil ein Aspekt der WRTC die Entwicklung und Erprobung neuartiger Technologien ist.”

Flexradio WRTC Plaque

Christian, DL1MGB, übergibt während der IDXC in Visalia die Plakette für das Gold-Sponsoring als Dank für die Unterstützung an Gerald Youngblood,  K5SDR, President & Chief Executive Officer (CEO) von FlexRadio Systems

Der WRTC 2018 e.V. teilt mit, dass die letzten beiden Sponsored Teams ausgewählt wurden. Bei der Auswahl standen die funksportlichen Fähigkeiten, die Unterstützung der WRTC-Ideale und die Beiträge zum technischen Fortschritt im Vordergrund. Mehrere ausgezeichnete Bewerbungen erreichten das Auswahlkomitee bis zum Ende der Bewerbungsfrist. Wir sind uns sicher, dass die ausgewählten Teams eine wichtige Rolle bei der WRTC 2018 spielen und um die Spitzenplätze mitkämpfen werden.

Team YO3JR

Team #4 wird geführt von Andrei "Andy" Ruse, YO3JR, aus Rumänien. Er betonte, dass die WRTC 2000 in Slowenien sein schon vorhandenes Interesse am Funksport entscheidend verstärkt hat. So qualifizierte sich Andy als Teilnehmer für die WRTC 2006 in Brasilien. Außerdem war er auch in Russland 2010 und den USA 2014 am Start. Er ist ein Beispiel dafür, wie die WRTC und Amateurfunk junge Funker in ihrer Entwicklung motivieren.

Photo: Andy, YO3JR, vor der Eröffnung der WRTC 2014 in New England

Team #5 wird geführt von Ivo Pezer, E73A/9A3A. Ivo kann als WRTC-Veteran bezeichnet werden. Als Team Leader nahm er an drei vorherigen WRTCs teil: in San Francisco 1996, Slowenien 2000 und Brasilien 2006. Ivos Wettbewerbsfähigkeit wird durch sein exzellentes Qualifikationsergebnis in der starken Region EU#5 belegt. Als Beschäftigter der UNO ist Ivo in vielen Ländern unterwegs und funkt auch regelmäßig aus DX. Ivo plant den Einsatz aktuellster SDR-Technlogie mit Unterstützung seines Teamkameraden Ranko, 4O3A. Dieser Aspekt unterstreicht die Bedeutung der WRTC-Bewegung für den technischen Fortschritt im Bereich Radiosport.  

Team 1
Ranko, 4O3A, und Ivo, E73A, arbeiten als eingespieltes Team.

Der Auswahlprozess für Sponsored Teams ist nun beendet. Der WRTC 2018 e.V. lagen weitere ausgezeichnete Bewerbungen vor und jeder Bewerber wäre ein ausgezeichneter Teamleiter für die WRTC 2018 gewesen. Die Zahl der Sponsored Teams ist leider begrenzt.

Die weiteren Sponsored Teams sind 

f t